Cub Scouts on the Canadian Path


Cub Scouts is the second stop along the Canadian Path.


The Cub Scout Pack will work together to find adventures in the JUNGLE!


Cub Scouts will be adventuring into the wonderful world of The Jungle Book. The areas listed on the Cub Scout map will help the Pack choose from a variety of small adventures that will help Cub Scouts to learn new skills and progress in skills they may already have - making them more well-rounded individuals.



The Cub Scout Map of the Jungle has many places to explore:


Program Areas

Council Rock - Leadership

Each year the Pack will start its Journey at Council Rock for a Gathering of Wolves to help prepare and plan the year ahead and earn their whiskers to become a Runner, a Tracker or a Howler.

Council Rock is also where you will plan adventures, hold Howler Council, create the Code of Conduct, learn about leading Lair and Pack activities and leading linking activities.


Baloo's Cave - Beliefs & Values

Baloo will help you explore adventures such as Cubs' Own, campfires, good turns, exploring different cultures and faiths, reflecting with the Internal Compass.


Red Flower Camp - Outdoors

Adventures here could include camping, hiking, paddling, Outdoor Adventure Skills, Scoutcraft, geocaching, orienteering, and other adventures that get you outdoors.


Bagheera's Hunting Grounds - Environment

Bagheera encourages you to have adventures related to the environment such as Scoutrees, Adopt-a-Road, Shoreline Cleanup, Leave No Trace camping, Environmental service projects and learning about nature.


Monkey City - Creative Expression

Monkey City reminds you to express yourself through different ways including music and drama, visual and spoken arts, digital arts, hobbies and personal interests.


Elephant Turf - Citizenship

Elephants never forget. Adventures here we will remember help other in our home and community, Canada and the world through service projects and volunteering.


The Swinging Bridge - Active & Healthy Living

Take time to have some fun on the Swinging Bridge through solo and team sports, being active in all seasons, making healthy living choices, having healthy relationships and mental and spiritual wellbeing.


Other Locations

The Village - Linking

Cub Scouts are not on the Canadian Path alone. Cub Scouts can look forward to The Village where they can join the older Scouts who have already left the jungle on exciting adventures. Cub Scouts can also look back to the Pond and visit the Beaver Scouts in their adventures, helping to lead some adventures for the younger Scouts.

The Village is also where Howlers (third-year Cub Scouts) can scout ahead to find new hunting grounds and seek out new trails to discover and adventures to experience. When Howlers move to The Village they will become a Scout and continue progressing on their journey by going on bigger adventures, pursuing higher stages in the Outdoor Adventure Skills and taking on new roles in the Troop.



Your Journey


You will spend 3 years in Cub Scouts (8-10 yrs old). Each year you will be given a different role in the Pack. Your role is indicated on the woggle you wear around your neckerchief.



First-year Cub Scouts (8 yr old) are known as "Runners". They learn from the older Cub Scouts how to run with the Pack and discover great new adventures. Runners have one set of "whiskers" (a line on either side of the wolf head) on their woggle.



Second-year Cub Scouts (9 yr old) are known as "Trackers". They mentor the Runners and link with the Beaver Scout Colony. This helps Beaver Scouts to get excited about someday becoming Cub Scouts themselves and gives Trackers opportunity for leadership! Trackers have two sets of "whiskers" on their woggle.



Third-year Cub Scouts (10 yr old) are known as "Howlers". They are the voice of the Pack. They help plan and organize meetings and adventures with a helping hand form the Pack Scouters. Howlers have three sets of "whiskers on their woggle.


Personal Progression Badges

Personal progression in Cub Scouts happens in 3 stages. These stages indicate how Cub Scouts typically grow over their 3 years in the Section.


To move from one stage to the next, you will have to complete 4 program cycles - one Scouting Year in Cub Scouts. Remember, the program cycles match up with the 4 seasons of the year, and it's an opportunity for you to plan fun things to do based on the 6 Program Areas.

The key to personal progression is the review of your entire Scouting Year. Take the time to reflect on how you've grown based on the experiences you've been able to share with your fellow Cub Scouts.



Outdoor Adventure Skills

The Outdoor Adventure Skills program is an invitation for you and the Cub Scouts in your Pack to try something new - to be outside, testing yourself with challenges while always staying safe. Each Outdoor Adventure Skills pathway is divided into 9 stages with a badge awarded for each stage.

The Outdoor Adventure Skills are for all Sections, from Beaver Scouts to Rover Scouts. If you were a Beaver Scout you will likely have already started your journey along some of the pathways. It is not very likely that you will reach Stage 9 in any of the Outdoor Adventure Skills pathways while you are in Cub Scouts. You can keep progressing, however, when you become a Scout.



Personal Achievement Badges

The Personal Achievement Badges are an opportunity for you to explore your own interests in your own way. Each Personal Achievement Badge has 4 requirements - but you decide what these 4 requirements will be! How will you challenge yourself? Don't worry what any other Cub Scout does for the same badge - the idea is to set requirements that will be a brand new experience and fun to do. There are 16 Personal Achievement Badges available to Cub Scouts during their time in the Jungle.



Religion in Life Award/The Spirituality Award

Religion in Life Award

In making your Cub Scout Promise, you said you will do your duty to God. There are many ways that you can do this. One way might involve earning the Religion in Life emblem.

To help you earn this award, you need to get a pamphlet outlining the requirements for the faith of your choice from the Scouts Canada website. Usually an adult from your faith will be appointed to help you with the requirements.

When you have completed the requirements, you will be presented with an emblem and a certificate.

The Religion in Life Award has 5 stages. The emblem's outside border colour shows which stage you have earned. 


The Spirituality Award

The Spirituality Award is designed for youth members who are presently excluded from earning a Religion in Life Award by not belonging to a specific faith community. To help you earn this award, obtain a pamphlet outlining the requirements from the Scouts Canada website.



Language Strip

The Language Strip shows that you have the ability to speak in another language. There are a number of different languages available. To earn this badge you must show you know another language by talking on a subject of your choice for 5 minutes with pronunciation and grammar that is basically correct and age-appropriate.



The Seeonee Award - Top Section Award

The Seeonee Award is the Top Section Award you can receive while in Cub Scouts. You will receive the award when you complete the following requirements: Personal Progression Review, Service Hours, Outdoor Adventure Skills, Seeonee Award Project.